Last week brought Blackberry owners Opera mini 6.5


"O" logo used by Opera Software as t...

Image via Wikipedia

Opera Mini logo
Image via Wikipedia

Less than a week of using Opera mini 6.5 and I am already very impressed are you?

This post is just a big thank you to the developers who worked on the new Opera mini versions. Seriously thank you very much. I am not sure if those running Android will get the same results but I have also heard great things of Opera mini for the various Android builds.

I am currently running a Torch

9800 (I was locked in At&t until I departed the states in September, ancient now right?) Needless to say the 9800 and BB OS 6 has been a much better experience than the three blackberry’s I owned in the past, the webkit browser still left me wanting much more. I am primarily a heavy text, email pounding, and now BBM to friends and family worldwide and not content and not particularly app centric (other than twitter and Facebook apps for blackberry which are very decent.)

However, with the release of the new Opera mini 6.5 I am contented despite my year and three-month itch to ditch or upgrade and therefore kept my eco-system mix anxiety in check a few months longer. The new Opera mini browser  may get me into through contented until Q2 of 2012 (QNX or iPhone5) or until I drop my Torch and cause its untimely death.

Thank god, the phone market is so messy now as a consumer.  A normal person would ‘just get a new phone.’ Yea not me it would be a study, a hot mess … Great things floating out there about Siri on the 4GS, great new Android products coming out every week, even the new WindowsPhones with the metro design and mango ready are pretty sweet. Then there is the Torch 9810 which is the faster better version of what I currently use every day. Arg… Just going to have to wait it out.

But transition costs are never easy as we build our own little eco systems. I love (can’t work) my MacBookPro, but do not really want to become a complete fanboy douche, either. Android and OSX don’t play super nice together… I live in my Gmail account, but some android phones I have used feel like such overgrown betas. I have two android tablets back home in storage running 2.2 cool as concepts but not quite ready for big time (well before Moto Zoom and Samsung‘s additions.)

But, I am not surprised this has happened to me twice before where the Opera crew extended the life of my last two phones as they too fell behind the curve feature wise by giving me a decent browsing experience I had not before had.

But a question for you I leave on…  am I the only one who use to be able to go a full two years+ before getting a new phone and be ok and now feel I want a new one every 10-11 months?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About dellinger80

@jdellinger Modernity's Champion, world traveling North Georgian, former Washingtonian Business Development Manager for @DialogNewMedia.
Political Insider blog

AJC blog about Atlanta politics, Georgia politics, Georgia and metro Atlanta election campaigns. Because all politics is local.

New York Post

Your source for breaking news, news about New York, sports, business, entertainment, opinion, real estate, culture, fashion, and more.

My Black Lab

Have Fun

Invisible Mikey

philosophic topics and the arts

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

Freelance Writing for Newbies

Writing Tips, FAQs & Bailiwicks

D.C. Crime Stories

The good, the bad, and the city.

9to5Mac

Apple News & Mac Rumors Breaking All Day

Conservative Tribune

Surly yet civil commentary.

The Tea Party Economist

Surly yet civil commentary.

Affluent Christian Investor

Surly yet civil commentary.

Cynthia Farahat

Surly yet civil commentary.

Liftable.com

Surly yet civil commentary.

The Wildcard

Surly yet civil commentary.

Liberty Alliance

Surly yet civil commentary.

Joe For America

Average Joe, Encouraging Americans to stand up for America!

Minutemen News

Surly yet civil commentary.

Patriot Update

A Free Press for the Conservative Revolution

Clash Daily

Surly yet civil commentary.

Deneen Borelli

Surly yet civil commentary.

